Interpreting Samiaji Sarosa

Sepi ing lathi rame ing driji

Array of New Gadgets

Leave a comment

It has been a while but my gadgets have been evolved quiet significantly for the last 6 months. I was using Blackberry 9800 (Torch) as my main and only mobile along with my Mac Book Pro Early 2011. My wive  was complaining on the performance of 9800 (she had one too) for quiet sometime. I bought her Blackberry 9790 (Bellagio) as shown below (taken from http://thisforphones.blogspot.com/2012/06/this-review-for-blackberry-9790.html)

Blackberry 9790 (Bellagio)

Blackberry 9790 (Bellagio)

However she refused to use it due to smaller screen size (compared to 9800). So I ended up using it and sold my Torch. I bought Blackberry 9810 (Torch 2) for my wive as seen below (taken from http://www.gforgames.com/gadgets/blackberry-torch-9810-9860-choose-16230/)

Blackberry 9810 (Torch 2)

Blackberry 9810 (Torch 2)

 

I was disappointed with the performance of both handsets and started to eyeing Android for my next handset. The only problem was Blackberry Messenger which the only reason I was still holding to Blackberry handsets. I was down to 2 handsets option. Samsung Galaxy S3 or Google Nexus 4 (made by LG). The only problem was Nexus 4 were not available in Indonesia. In fact, it was unavailable all over the world at that time due to shortage. Then after some savings I decided to buy Samsung Galaxy S3 16 GB White as shown below (taken from http://forum.xda-developers.com/forumdisplay.php?f=1563)

Samsung Galaxy S3 White 16 GB

Samsung Galaxy S3 White 16 GB

I immediately moved all my contacts, photos, email accounts, and other data from Bellagio to S3. I also bought A micro SD card 32 GB class 10 for extra storage. I am using WhatsApp to replace BBM. However I am still holding on to Bellagio. I am quiet satisfied with the handset with Quad Core Processors, 1 GB RAM, and 16 GB Internal Storage it is quiet good. Unfortunately there is no capabilities to store some apps into SD Card. I also immediately upgraded the OS to Android 4.1.2 as soon as it available.

A month after I got my S3, an email from Prof. Marry-Anne Williams arrived in S3 Inbox to inform me that I won naming contest for UTS Robot (the winner name is GUTSY). She wrote that I could have any Android phone. Obviously I selected Nexus 4. After some waiting I finally had one as depicted below (taken from http://phandroid.com/2012/11/23/nexus-4-review/)

Google Nexus 4 (16 GB)

Google Nexus 4 (16 GB)

Mine is equipped with 16 GB internal memory. It is also slight faster than S3 with 1.5 GHz processor instead of 1.4 GHz. and also come with 2 GB of RAM instead of 1 GB. The draw back is it does not have any SD Card slot so it is difficult to expand storage.

I am using my Nexus 4 mainly for games, social medias, and a bit fun. S3 has to do emails and photos (due to extra storage). The touch screen keyboard was better on Nexus 4 and as soon as it was available I install Google Keyboard app to S3.

As I wrote previously I hate Blackberry 9810 performance and apparently so does my wive. She needs a lot of instant messaging with BBM, pictures taking, text messaging, and phone to coordinate her staff. So we decided to try the new Blackberry Z10 as depicted below (taken from http://www.zdnet.com/blackberry-z10-review-7000010830/)

Blackberry Z10 Black 16 GB

Blackberry Z10 Black 16 GB

She was quiet happy with it. A decent phone with good camera, snappy performance, and ample storage.

Meanwhile, I lost my Bellagio on Jakarta’s Airport before I board GA2o2. I did not want to replace it, since I have two Android Phones but my wive insisted that I bought another Blackberry. Therefore I decided to buy Blackberry 9220 as seen below (taken from http://mobiles.pricedekho.com/mobiles/blackberry/curve-9220-price-p6rE1.html)

Blackberry 9220

Blackberry 9220

Since I use it only for BBM, text messaging, and phone I do not have any performance issue anymore. I give the heavy tasks to the both green robots. The only missing part of this phone is touch screen. Now that I have been used  to have touch screen I missed it a lot in this device. My Bellagio was found and returned to me by a kind and honest stranger (may God Bless him). I gave it to my brother.

Recently I was winning another gadget, which is Samsung Galaxy Note 2  white 16 GB as depicted below (taken from http://www.droid-life.com/2012/09/14/galaxy-note-2-launching-on-att-october-21/)

Samsung Galaxy Note 2 White 16 GB

Samsung Galaxy Note 2 White 16 GB

 

Unfortunately, my wive lost her Z10 to a pickpocket. I gave her the Note 2 and she is happy with it.

Author: systemscraft

I am s senior lecturer in information systems at Accounting Department, Faculty of Economics, Atma Jaya Yogyakarta University in Indonesia.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.